Sweeter

Like a second honeymoon
Only sweeter
Honeyed words spin
Like sugar, and I am flying
Lifted
Lighter
All for the knowing
That I have you, my friend
Only sweeter

10 responses to “Sweeter

  1. I like this one a lot; short and sweet is just my style. Doesn’t have to be sweet, actually, but short is always best to me. Long poems bore me, and I usually lose interest before I finish them. They start to sound like Charlie Brown’s teacher, if you know what I mean. See you at dVerse next week!

    • Thank you. Yes, I know exactly what you mean, I have a similarly short attention span for the epic ones… That said I did my first epic poem on this blog yesterday buts it’s not often my style. I do sometimes feel like I am cheating though, smaller pieces can leave me worrying that it was too easy and like I haven’t worked enough, don’t you think?!

      • No! Most of mine are what I consider “standard” in length, and I prefer to read the same. But! If you say what needs to be said in a few simple lines, you’re done. Never try to flush out a poem or story. In fact, since I started blogging, I’ve learned to cut cut cut. It’s been a terrific learning experience for me!

Tell me your thoughts...

