Temptations Tale – special edition for DVerse Poets

Written in response to DVerse Poets #OpenLinkNight – Week 40

I could take a peek
Just catch brief sight of
what
might
be
(but not for me)

I could linger with your scent
Small recompense for more of
what
might
be
(but not for me)

I could wrap my palms around
Deep roots and silken blooms of
what
might
be
(but not for me)

I could taste your cherried breath
As you whisper at my neck of
what
might
be
(but not for me)

I could revel in the tone
Our hushed sighs in love’s song of
what
might
be
(but not for me)

Yet you and I could never keep
Growing in the knowing of
what
cannot
be
(at least not for me)

24 responses to “Temptations Tale – special edition for DVerse Poets

  1. A touch of temptation, an altogether potent pinch of reality…”but not for me,” a perfect line to tie the whole piece together with, and the repetition works well, snapping us back from our occasional daliances in the dream. In craft and tone alike, well done!

  2. Sadness fills each line, that sadness that only comes with an awareness that love is unrequited and never to be. I also like the form, and I think the repetition of the but not for me is very powerful, growing in enormity thru the silence of the beloved.

  3. so sweetly bittersweet… it is that knowing it is not for you that can make it all the more tempting… great use of form and repetition to convey the emotions here!

Tell me your thoughts...

