Rhythm of Enchantment

Not normally one for Vampires but the following was written in response to tonight’s Poetics at dVerse Poets Pub

Finger tip by finger tip
you tease me
through every note
of a lingering legato
In rise and fall, you
roll
wrap
rumble
like distant thunder
in an opiate sky
Sharp intake
Breath held in the black
and I descend in cinnabar
like the waterfall
you want me to become
I’m undone
spilt milk
Your hunger satiated
For tonight

30 responses to “Rhythm of Enchantment

  1. Someone who doesn’t usually get into vampires (I don’t either) this has me fooled. I especially like:

    I descend in cinnabar
    like the waterfall
    you want me to become

  2. Nice take. Really a neat use of the language here, incorporating the roll, wrap, rumble, then following that section with thunder was very cool. Great job. Thanks

  3. Nice, sexy poem, great imagery (e.g., “opiate sky”). You may not usually write about vampires, but you came up with a good poem and had fun with it.

  4. I love this:

    “Finger tip by finger tip
    you tease me
    through every note
    of a lingering legato”

    …this lingering legato…mmh…such an exquisite taste of fleeing melody going to my head…

    Have you ever studied music? 🙂

  5. Every real wish should be honoured 🙂 not through ambition, but through the delight of action.
    You already “play” the piano – I can almost hear it 🙂

    See if you like the music of Alexander Scriabin, his early- as well as late works

Tell me your thoughts...

