Safety Net

I woke to a storm this morning
rain bounced hard on glass
the sound of tossed gravel on tin
a bad dream preceded my fear
(that ball I carry, and you know)
then I felt for you in the darkness
found your skin, warm and clammy
that feeling of safety rushed in
at my finger tips as I pulled you close
traced your lines then breathed
a calmer sigh, for knowing that
my fears abate when I hold on tight
before sunrise chases the rain away

3 responses to “Safety Net

Tell me your thoughts...

