Evensong in Shadow

20120527-205045.jpg

the early evening sun
cast light and shade
across the wild flowers
making magic before moonshine
the air so warm and still
that every birdsong and bee sting
could be traced on the breeze

freckled faces appeared in
dappled light amongst the green
the cast assembled
backlit in a cinematic scene
like stars bathed in Hollywood
and my shadow cast paler
than usual, not quite silhouette
as I wondered if this
is what the world would look
like on the day before I die

ants marching on, busy busy
no time for sunbathing
still so much to do as
flowers turn their heads
to face the gentle gold and glow
arc their necks to the evensong
thunder bugs scale the stems of
tangerine poppy heads and
I could see it all unfolding
the minutiae of happenstance

and came clarity at the realisation
that when my shadow turns
to but a wisp rising in the ether
and only my empty space remains
nothing really changes
except the light
moving miracles into focus

36 responses to “Evensong in Shadow

  1. Another beautiful poem, that idea of the ants marching on oblivious is so sad but true, it is so easy to get caught up in life.
    I enjoy reading your poems, thanks!

  2. I love this, Vanessa. I think my favorite is the last few lines, although I love this as well ~

    as I wondered if this
    is what the world would look
    like on the day before I die

    Exquisite picture you paint with those words. Exceptional. ~ Love, Bobbie

  3. and came clarity at the realisation
    that when my shadow turns
    to but a wisp rising in the ether
    and only my empty space remains
    nothing really changes
    except the light
    moving miracles into focus

    this is so very very beautiful..thank you !

  4. there is a bit of magic in your descriptions…the way you paint the world then yourself a siloquet and then wondering if this was what it would be like the day before you die…that took my breathe a bit…lovely piece…see you in a bit…smiles….

  5. maybe the day we die, we will start thinking about things like that..why ants never sunbathe, maybe why we’ve been in such a hurry most of our life..a very reflective piece vanessa

    • I don’t know if you can see but my shadow appears in this photo (I was readin a book) and i was struck by how much paler it was than the other shadow lines around it. That gave me a slightly spooky feeling that it looked like I was literally disappearing and the rest came from there. The light was so beautiful that evening that as I looked around everything was so vivid and I was reminded of old tales I had heard about how colours and sounds come more into focus right before you die… Morbid I know, but I was intrigued!

  6. I don’t often quote the poet’s lines in my comments, but THESE are killer lines:
    as I wondered if this
    is what the world would look
    like on the day before I die
    Holy smokes, girl! That’s the bomb right there! Very nice work!

  7. “clarity at the realisation
    that when my shadow turns
    to but a wisp rising in the ether
    and only my empty space remains
    nothing really changes
    except the light
    moving miracles into focus”…gorgeous!!!

  8. nothing really changes
    except the light
    moving miracles into focus . . .

    I liked your metaphors and descriptions — vivid & enchanting.

    Especially like the last lines — light remains and miracles!
    Thanks!

  9. I like the ponderings of, whether what we’ve done will leave our mark long after we have gone or, will we simply just leave and not a thing will be left undisturbed with our passing. Even the ants soldier on, duty never done.
    Loved the lightness of the feel in this, the flowers, the bees, silhouettes.
    A really lovely write.

  10. Have you really read this a loud? I mean stood up and sang it…this is fantastic Vanessa (ask my poetry hating hubby who I just read it to!) The imagery, the mood, the magic in moonshine…it appears beautifully effortless and reads like a song.

  11. Interesting piece. Nothing ever changes unless humankind has shattered the biosphere and this really is the beginning of a Great Extinction.

    In the short term, of course, life goes on. And those ants that seem ever the same? The average life expectancy of an ant is only 45-60 days…

Tell me your thoughts...

