Garmonbozia

20120623-235741.jpg
Image from www.weheartit.com

Between the firs and pines
the Garmonbozia crept
like the creamed corn centre
of a right brain unravelling
the analytical left side

When it finally weaved it’s way
silently through my bedroom window
and fed my thoughts, I was captured
my senses and sensitivities
for senseless mystery and tragedy
poured onto the pages of a diary
and I was drowned by the pink room

Thrown off balance here and there
by a man from another place
whose inflections spun circles
and then reversed around my
confusion for a while, until I
turned a page and logic restored
I ploughed ahead to a land where
the angels can’t protect you
because they’re gone, hiding faces
that burst into flames as I learned how
the fire really could walk with me

Written in response to Anna Montgomery’s Poetics Prompt for dVerse Poets for which we were asked to focus on words! Unusual words, new words, old words, non words and everything in between! Garmonbozia was a term used by David Lynch in his controversial creation Twin Peaks. The word is used to describe pain and suffering and was depicted by a visual of creamed corn in the movie Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me . The Man from Another Place (played by Michael J. Andersen) was a fictional character who existed in Black Lodge and spoke in an unusual double reversed speech (see Twin Peaks wiki for information on the technique used).

33 responses to “Garmonbozia

  1. nice…have not thought of twin peaks in some time…the creme corn of the brain….haha…love that opening stanza…nice intensity in this too…esp those last couple lines…from the land where no angels tread to the end…tight….cool piece vanessa…

  2. This is a terrific example of how words can set the atmosphere. When mixed with visual symbolism this adds another layer of artistry. I just saw a documentary on great directors that included David Lynch. I’ve seen his Elephant Man but never Twin Peaks; clearly I need to remedy this oversight. Delicious!

    • Thanks Anna! The movie received quite a lot of criticism actually and it can be hard to keep track of, but I kept a copy of The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer for many years. Not a comfortable read but very powerful I felt. Xx

  3. Garmonbozia is a cool word for sure…and you spun the tale well and then the closure is just perfect…and i agree with tornadoday…feels mysterious and that adds to the tightness

  4. this is an intriguing write… Garmonbozia providing a great pivot for the ‘between’ and for exploring the 2 sides of the brain..:) Love that description in S1

    I remember Twin Peaks – TV series in the 80s – was ahead of its time and a classic of blending styles. The music! Perfect subject for this prompt.

  5. I loved Twin Peaks! So crazy, and the music was perfect. I think there were more made up words, too. That series was way ahead of its time. Great poem, too, Vanessa. Very nice!

  6. How really strange, Lynchian maybe, I have been watching TwinPeaks on TV for the last few weeks. Lynch is one of my fave directors, and I think this poem is very much in his spirit. Lovely depiction of a dream(?) where all is suggestive of deeper levels to reality.

    • Hey there! Very Lynchian indeed.. What a weird coincidence. I was only reminded of it accidentally whilst trying to write my first poem which I then lost, and so Twin Peaks was my second write…. He’d love the twist in that little plot!

  7. Lovely words. This is so different from what I expected from the photo. I think ” right brain unravelling the analytical left side” put me bacl on track. I never saw Twin Peaks.

  8. I never caught on to Twin Peaks, so your explanation is greatly appreciated. But I love “the creamed corn centre/of the right brain unravelling/the left side”–and the ending left me gobsmacked. Thank you.

  9. Really cool piece. I love the word choices here, unique, fun, and the allusions are really neat. I used to love the twin peaks show, really nice to see it referred to here. Great read. Thanks

Tell me your thoughts...

