Not just another year ~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

They say if it comes in like a lion

it goes out like a lamb

but I guess that depends on

the season you are in when you decide

to jump fate first into the calendar

 

If your passage of time is akin

to the drip of the tap

maybe you got it right, followed the path

just as the crow flies

nice and straight, no deviations

 

Sometimes it’s not so easy to stem the flow

cork the gush of a leaking pipe

on the days it runs away with you

or you run away with it

(Just me?  Tell me you do it too)

 

But it’s at those times that you just

gotta hang on tight, trust it and go

and I did; I rode the tidal wave

too often got caught in the rip tide

of course I did, how about you?

 

Maybe I got carried away at times

seduced into big ideas and

red carpet moments at the end

of a yellow brick road

following a trail of black diamonds

 

Either way it led me here

to the beginning, where all still glitters

but it’s not gold I’m panning for

(they reserve that for the fools)

just the riches I found on my journey

 

 

I wrote this poem today especially for dVerse Poets Open Link Night #52 – marking one whole year since this wonderful poetry community came together to share and celebrate each others talent.  I only jumped on the calender in recent months, but I have grown and learned more in my time participating than I have in any other year.  Joining in with dVerse has gifted me with riches by opening my mind, my heart and my creativity.  Thanks Natasha, Brian, Claudia and the rest of the team for encouraging me to go with that flow and ride the wave to this point.  I look forward to more!

18 responses to “Not just another year ~

  1. We never know how far we can go, unless we try. I’ve made so many mistakes on my path but, making them and the pain felt from them is what teaches those all important lessons. Great piece and a lovely dedication to that great group at dVerse.

  2. This is a lot of fun, and very sharp writing as well. Time is what we make of it, and the journey isn’t as important as who journeys with you sometimes. Loved it.

  3. jumping fate first is not a bad thing at all…and you have a been a wonderful addition to the pub…glad you found some riches in your journey and i hope to share a few more drinks with you in the pub poet…smiles.

  4. “to jump fate first” (where I perked up in the face of the unusual)

    “Maybe I got carried away at times
    seduced into big ideas and
    red carpet moments at the end
    of a yellow brick road
    following a trail of black diamonds” (where I gave you a standing ovation)

    “but it’s not gold I’m panning for
    (they reserve that for the fools)
    just the riches I found on my journey” (where tears came and I sent you roses)

  5. for fate I read feet of course, being in a groove.
    It made me think of writing a poem immersed in typoes and see what comes out.
    And yes – I’m sure we all have days like that. Nice read.

  6. I too have gone down many paths, serking a lark or butterfly of dream. Your poem uses those catch phrases that try to sum up our experience, but which life bursts to show us the riches contained in the well-worn words.

  7. Beautiful………… Now for the bad news! It won’t be slowing down anytime soon (likely ever) so hold on (and let go)…….. Lovely! ~ Love, Bobbie

Tell me your thoughts...

