~ me time

sucked back in to the drum of the washer

my words neatly folded into crisp edges and hospital corners

before being tucked into my back pocket

with only day old tissues and a discarded ticket stub to befriend

and here I am again, rifling through the loose change

in search of my lost days, trying to figure out why

the battering ram still nudges at my door

and why I let lost lines creep so easily out the back

at least the sun is shining and the air is warm

the bubbles in my glass crackle gently

like the tension popping through my spine

and I swallow it down, because when all is said and done

what else can I do but lay low back here

on the grassy banks of time, my only alternative

to ride pillion into the thunder clouds

clinging on as I wait for the wheels to come off

*****************************************************************************

Written for dVerse Poets Open Link Night which tonight begins its second year of celebrating poetry and poets.

39 responses to “~ me time

  1. whew…crazy hectic life eh…and sometimes hiding away to get that me time is the best that we can get…and hope for…just to breathe….good to see you ma’am…

  2. That’s a wonderful little poem …..’my only alternative/to ride pillion into the thunder clouds’ ……I know the point and sometimes don’t you just want to ..against better judgement …

  3. Love this totally …. So many ways this could be read into. It could just be life’s craziness….the battering ram at the door could be a postman delivering news….the lines out the back door could have been words you wished you’d used….it could just simply be about taking some time, some respite….(god- I KNOW this)….but I love how it made me think…and I love the textures you’ve weaves into it (the crackling bubbles in the glass for example)…. You are very talented Vanessa- and you don’t have to respond to that- although I do enjoy your sarcastic slant….(weirdo) ….another fine fine poem

  4. I really liked how this is one long thought sans punctuation, almost as if it was a long exhale. Wonderful.

  5. “and I swallow it down, because when all is said and done
    what else can I do but lay low back here
    on the grassy banks of time, my only alternative
    to ride pillion into the thunder clouds”

    No, no, do not go out of control, take instead that lying low. “Being low” is also a Quaker phrase for waiting on God rather than rushing forward with our own agenda . . . I love that it is an option in this hectic life you know.

  6. Love the small details of crinkled ticket stubs and day-old tissues mixing in with words, those touches of the poetic. And, oh, I was reading your discussion, and funnily enough, I have a poem called “Pillion” – it’s about first love and a motorcycle.

  7. Thank you so much for taking us, from the honest reflection of chores (as I right, neat piles of fresh laundry lie behind me) to the bubbles cracking gently in your glass.
    Glad you’ve taken the positive approach, it is the higher road : )

  8. Tucking words into your back pocket like tissue always seem to come out mangled in the wash. Left with shards and the fate of time you have well with the chaos of life. Time has never been friendly.

  9. really enjoyed the last few lines;
    “what else can I do but lay low back here
    on the grassy banks of time, my only alternative
    to ride pillion into the thunder clouds
    clinging on as I wait for the wheels to come off”

    Captured the madness of life well!

  10. I absolutely LOVE this………….. I sometimes walk to clear my head, but am absolutely convinced that my hair’s on fire! Beautiful work, Vanessa. ~ Much love, Bobbie

  11. I really liked this piece.
    “my words neatly folded into crisp edges and hospital corners” and
    “to ride pillion into the thunder clouds
    clinging on as I wait for the wheels to come off” Nice!

  12. This is an outstanding piece. The verse has a shadow side, which is illustrated masterfully. The painting is mesmerizing, as the hair is everywhere, but in it’s sprawling design, it can appear to become a shadow, and then at closer look, that shadow appears to be engulfing the person, which can then be used to represent the idea of the self. Outstanding piece on many fronts. Great read.

    • Thank you so much. I’m so glad you commented on the painting as well as the piece, I love it, I mean really really love it (sadly not my work, I’m no painter that’s for sure!). What a lovely comment, much appreciated.

  13. I loved it all, but those last lines hit me hard. I guess on some level we all wait for those wheels to fall off, and then the ride really begins.

    So well done.

Tell me your thoughts...

