Competition Entry Unveiled – Always Fixed on You

The following poem was written for a horror poetry competition I entered as part of my recent 30 day writing challenge.  Honestly I don’t even know if it counts as horror, more psychological thriller perhaps… anyway, here you go….

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

ALWAYS FIXED ON YOU

 

The view from my window

Always fixed on you

You walking, sometimes alone or not

It matters little to me, or my eyes

Always fixed on you

 

Sometimes I think you see me

You look in, I’m looking out

Do you hear me screaming?

Know the fears behind my stare?

You look in, I’m looking out

 

There was a time of happiness

My flesh remained untorn

Until I saw you looking back

With dark glaze on worn face

My flesh remained untorn

 

I wait here every day

Our connection in our knowing

We tell no one of what we see

What we feel or how it hurts

Our connection in our knowing

 

Maybe this will be the moment

When we’ll both be saved by fate

My words will heal, your heart

Will slash and burn like my desperate skin

When we’ll both be saved by fate

 

I’ll watch and wait as they pull you in

They might look back and see

My tortured shadow through the glass

Then see, it’s you not me

They might look back and see

 

Or I will remain at your window

Bleeding, crying, dying.  Always fixed on you.

11 responses to “Competition Entry Unveiled – Always Fixed on You

Tell me your thoughts...

