Of Women At War (ft Some Unholy War, Amy Winehouse)

Boudica rides forth with the ferocity

and courage of a woman pushed to the brink.

With nothing left to lose, and I know

many like her even now, who bite back

when life tears chunks from their flesh.

 

She might have been my celtic sister

in another lifetime.  Or yours.

She might have been.

The warrior Queen leading her tribe,

I can’t help but feel we’ve all been there.

 

Warrior women striding out

of the bear pit, blood stained skin

aching heart, tear clouded eyes.

And we blink them back,

swallow hard and keep going.

 

Perhaps we no longer lead the charge

with a battle cry and steely blade.

But we defend our settlement

to the end, for the sake of our men

our children and finally ourselves.

 

It’s just what we do, and sometimes we win

sometimes we lose, but in the end

all we can do is keep on fighting.

Bearing our scars when we have to, because

we earned the right, fighting on the front line.

 

Now please watch the video and listen to the incredible lyrical take on being a warrior woman –

Some Unholy War, Amy Winehouse 

 

(Written for this weeks Poetics prompt over at dVerse Poets.  Brian Miller asked us to pick a point in history and write about it)

58 responses to “Of Women At War (ft Some Unholy War, Amy Winehouse)

    • Thank you. Whilst this piece wasn’t written as a tribute to Amy Winehouse, I am a huge huge fan and in spite of her critics, I thought she was one of the most talented women in music. The words to this song just came to mind whilst I was writing it, as they speak to me of the endless endurance of the loving heart of a woman (or indeed that of a man 🙂 )

  1. Wow, this right here is such a wonderful blend of ferocity and vulnerability–well done:

    Warrior women striding out

    of the bear pit, blood stained skin

    aching heart, tear clouded eyes.

    And we blink them back,

    swallow hard and keep going.

  2. nice….love that you picked a strong woman voice….she makes for a pretty cool character….i rather like strong women and i like you part about them defending what is theirs…i think that it is a good thing that is not just a male role as it once was…nicely done….

    • If you like strong women, you will also know that we can be pretty high maintenance… but fierce and loyal when you need us on your side eh?! ;)) I’m not a massive feminist personally and I admit I do like to be taken care of by my man but its nice to know that I can tackle things on my own if needs be! Thanks Brian, great prompt.

    • Fascinating indeed, such trauma endured being forced to witness the rape of her daughters, and as her enemies tried to prove their strength and power, she dug deeper and roared like a lioness…. You know what they say… ‘ Hell hath no fury like a woman scorned.’ Thanks for stopping by and commenting, really appreciate it.

      • Yes, another example where ultimately the oppressors win, destroying a different, though not necessarily poorer culture.

  3. Being a lover of history and having always admired her strengths and tenacity, I wrote of Boadicea once too. Being forced to watch her daughters raped must have sent her half crazy. I’m glad she fought the oppressors like a lioness when she had to and, you’re right, most woman can and do fight like that to protect their own, just like the fierce warrior women we can be if we have to be. Very nice poem.
    Andddd… well done Jessica Ennis wooo hooo !~!

    • I know right?!! Another warrior woman right there. A fantastic inspiration and timely example of what it means to dig deep and find more strength when you thought you might have reached your limits… woooo hooo indeed! xx

  4. “With nothing left to lose, and I know
    many like her even now, who bite back
    when life tears chunks from their flesh.”

    Warrior women! Here now too, as you say.
    And thanks for the song too!

  5. Beautiful Amy Winehouse track too.

    I love your poem – especially the line “It’s just what we do” (so matter of fact) “And sometimes we win” (because the winning isn’t guaranteed but we carry on trying anyway)

  6. Thank you for linking Amy Winehouse to your poem – I read it with her story in mind, and her crazy wide-ranged voice (I saw a documentary on her last weekend, in fact).
    Your words are sometimes harsh (“when life tears chunks from their flesh”) but true, and I am more than happy to show my many scars to people around! haha.

    • Me too, they show you have lived, loved and experienced. Amy was wonderful and whilst this wasn’t a tribute to her, it just seemed to fit so well. A shame that she ultimately succumbed to her particular battle.

  7. I think you hit a place we all can feel–that place where you will fight, not because you want to, but because you have to, and because you know you will die anyway perhaps, if you don’t. I enjoyed this much, Vanessa. I used to have a poster of Xena above my desk, when I worked with a bunch of guys–she definitely scared them. ;_)

  8. I was very inspired by the lines She might have been my celtic sister

    in another lifetime. Or yours.

    She might have been.

    The warrior Queen leading her tribe,

    I can’t help but feel we’ve all been there. It makes me realize that I too could be a warrior Queen because I’ve always been one. Great poem.

  9. This broke my heart. I loved Amy. And such a great, strong poem and moving song with such a powerful spirit I miss so much. I can’t believe its only been a year. Thank you!

  10. We are warriors… and everything else life causes us to be. We are strong woman and will fight for what we believe! Even warriors have their moments of need though and right now this warrior needs some ice cream!

  11. It doesn’t look as if the first part of my comment is showing, so I’m just going to type it again. I love the poem. We all are strong warrior women and everything else this life causes us to be! We play many roles… all of them very important.

  12. excellent transformation of history into poetry. Great story and theme within the poem as well, extremely strong ending as well. Very nicely done. Thanks

Tell me your thoughts...

