matter of fact – Part 1 & Part 2

 

 

 

 

(i)

 

I wasn’t expecting this, or that

as a matter of fact

yet it was entirely predictable

 

After all, I laid the breadcrumb trail

that led you here

I called the bluff of the blind man

 

And now I catch my breath

the intake as sharp as a surgeon’s blade

drawn too close to my solar plexus

 

We lock eyes… pause for impure thoughts

indulge, then wait for the flicker to diminish

before departing, no expectation of anything more

 

(ii)

 

Three rings ascend in shrill song and I flinch

in shivers as I watch you absorb the news

I wasn’t expecting you to be so matter of fact

 

Eyes now open, your stomach

is swollen with sickness at the sight of me

and I am eaten alive

 

I catch my breath, hold it in my hands

now bleeding at your needle talk

as you stitch me up with precision

 

We lock eyes… you pause for broken thoughts

I watch as the flicker diminishes

and you depart.  I can’t expect anything more.

 

 

 

A tale of ‘unexpected’ betrayal and ‘unexpected’ discovery written for this week’s ‘unexpected Poetics prompt over at dVerse Poets Pub…any idea what we are writing about this week?  Come and join in every Saturday from 3pm EST.  (Oh and don’t worry, this is a fictional tale!)

 

32 responses to “matter of fact – Part 1 & Part 2

  1. oy…yeah glad its fiction as well….and interesting the different feelings in each…the intentionality of the first, and the probably unintentioned second, though i think some want to get caught too just to ease the guilt but…really nicely written ma’am

  2. This is sounds so painful
    I catch my breath, hold it in my hands

    now bleeding at your needle talk

    as you stitch me up with precision

    Very vivid in its imagery, so much so I felt like saying….Ouch!
    Nothing hurts quite as much as the pain of betrayal.

  3. Very interesting poem really. I like that it is “unexpected” but yet the breadcrumb trail was laid. I wonder how many unexpected happenings in our life are just like that! Then the second stanza…so very sad. Nice writing all around.

  4. A real kick to the teeth with this one Vanessa…round two was, surprisingly enough…unexpected. Thought you were going to spin it down another road…very glad you didn’t. I do believe that means SCORE! awesomeness!

  5. So many painful sounding instruments and expressions. The first part leading, and surgical precised schemes. The second dives into dark mood, taking the turn that it did. Enjoyed reading this.

  6. Vanessa, the two takes on attraction, the stitching of the heart, BAM. This is full of pain and rather glorious. Found you on dverse, and I’m so glad.
    FYI – if you want to converse space and be more compact in your formatting, compose or cut and paste in the TEXT view, which is one of two tabs in the composing window, up to the right. I have been WordPressing for a bit and found it makes for a better read.
    But a better poem I could not write. Truth. Peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/09/22/first-frost/

  7. I’m not sure what it means, but I will guess — a sexual encounter that is merely convenient but where one party expects more and is hurt.

    I loved the surgical analogies — but I had to read it twice to see if this was a tryst using surgery imagery or a surgery (from some organ or tumor perspective) using a fling’s analogy.

    Hey, I have some thoughts on your WordPress template — if interested, e-mail me.

  8. both poems are excellent! i REALLY love ~
    “We lock eyes… pause for impure thoughts
    indulge, then wait for the flicker to diminish
    before departing, no expectation of anything more”

Tell me your thoughts...

