Autumn Fashion

Wind, rain and grey skies need not see you rushing for cover under the nearest knitted blanket (though that does sound tempting), no no. There are so many lovely ways to combine comfy and cozy with stylish and showy – see what I did there?! The weather in my part of the world has taken a turn for the worst so I thought it might be nice to cheer myself and hopefully all of you too, with a sneaky peek at my Top 5 fashion favourites for autumn. Enjoy…

(all images sourced via Pinterest)

A WORD ABOUT WOOLIES

20121005-213019.jpg

20121005-213037.jpg

20121005-213100.jpg

Everyone likes to pull on a wooly jumper now and then, and a nice knit can look and feel great when it’s cold enough for a chill to set in but not so cold yet that you need a coat. However, it can be all too tempting to ditch your femininity or hide your shape under a chunky knit. I love a jumper or cardigan teamed with an ultra feminine chiffon or sequinned skirt, or tea dress to turn snuggly into sassy.

KEEP IT UNDER YOUR HAT

20121005-213238.jpg

20121005-213250.jpg

20121005-213309.jpg

Taking in an autumn walk? Tucking your tresses under the brim of a great hat not only looks fantastic but keeps you warm too. There are so many pretty hats around, including lots of modern takes on classic retro styles, and for those who have to go woolly, there are even some beautiful bobble hats…. Oh who am I kidding? No, there aren’t. Cute and toastie or not, bobble hats aren’t for me but if I had to wear one I think I’d have to make it a sparkly one or at least add a brooch.

A CLASSIC AUTUMN COAT

20121005-214847.jpg

20121005-214927.jpg

20121005-215908.jpg

If you ask me, a well cut coat becomes part of your outfit rather than just something you pull on to protect yourself from the elements. There are so many great shapes, details and autumn colours around that it seems a shame to hide under something heavy and shapeless. Buttons, belts and berry bright colours will left any grey day.

BOOTS AND SHOES TO WEATHER A STORM

20121006-142435.jpg

20121006-142510.jpg

20121006-142517.jpg

A pair of beautiful boots are a must, and I think boot socks are a really pretty and practical addition to stop them looking heavy. I do love heeled boots but don’t love trying to keep myself from slipping and sliding around in them when it’s wet, so I prefer flat, low heeled or maybe even wedge heel boots for safety and comfort in style! However sad it is to say goodbye to summer sandals, I really like to see colourful shoes with thick tights. It is so tempting to go for black, brown or grey but a splash of colour in an otherwise simple outfit just cheers me up! If I really have to keep it sensible, then I really like a pair of brogues. They are retro, classy and a tiny bit feminine so a great way to wear a practical flat shoe when the occasion calls for it.

SNUGGLING IN YOUR SCARF

20121006-143338.jpg

20121006-143353.jpg

20121006-143404.jpg

There are so many scarves to choose from and so many different ways to tie them that it’s hard not to find them making their way into your wardrobe at this time of year. I look for brightly coloured prints, elegant embellishments or delicate details such as bows, tassels, sequins (of course), and beads to make sure that a scarf adds something special to my outfit rather than swamping it.

That’s it… I’m off to enjoy the Autumn air with my lot!

20121006-144512.jpg

2 responses to “Autumn Fashion

Tell me your thoughts...

