Stepping Stones

Mere stepping stones I tread
as I jump through the hoops
formed by the hangman’s noose
on a path to somewhere I can’t see

Forward I go again, into another day
a gut wretch precedes my cat stretch
and I climb a broken ladder, mustn’t dismiss
it has to get better than this

But how many hours can I spend
in search of a four leaf clover
when all around me eager trios
lean in for my attention?

Shared for Open Link Night over at dVerse Poets.

27 responses to “Stepping Stones

  1. Pingback: Stepping Stones | Pure Poetry | Scoop.it·

  2. Lord knows those eager trio’s are all too abundant! What would it take to get a little luck these days? We work hard, we write hard, and the next day have to pause to figure if we have moved forward or back…LOVE this one, Vanessa!

  3. “But how many hours can I spend
    in search of a four leaf clover
    when all around me eager trios
    lean in for my attention?”

    How’d you know I had three kids? Wonderful write.

  4. what not gonna settle for the fake luck…but isnt it alluring the quick and easy way…instead of jumping those hoops and stepping stones….hisses the silver tongue snake…nah, dont give in…keeping on keeping on…

  5. Give me a break. Not me, but that’s is what I read. The third stanza is my fav as it opens my mind to many interpretations of trio. I think I had most fun with trio being different sets of past present and futures from dif povs. At any rate, or anyway, I really enjoyed this, and the skill of heart that expressed it.

  6. this made me smile…. yes, sometimes we spend too much time reaching for the impossible to notice what’s right in front of me… and i adore that image!

  7. But how many hours can I spend
    in search of a four leaf clover
    when all around me eager trios
    lean in for my attention?….ha..you know…i think we shouldn’t waste time to look for the four leaf clover…just go with what we got…

  8. A lot of very nice slant rhyme here, all through. I really like ‘…a gut wretch precedes my cat stretch…’

    and that photo is perfect.

  9. Last stanza here is a winner, the clincher, and yet . . . . Teaching was like that. Differentiation helped a little, but the need of the many was often lost to the needs of the rule-breakers, under-achievers, and the far-reaching.

Tell me your thoughts...

