No vacancies

20121201-213254.jpg

For the longest time, the side of your face
was all you could lend
‘no vacancies’ the sign that
hung at the windows in your eyes
and yet you weren’t occupied at all
just empty as a cold rolled barrel

And I missed how you used to be
even the frustrating ways
most days they would have been
something more than your nothing

I missed you in the moments
too quickly melted into past tense
as the glint I’d always known
faded ‘neath the thunder claps
that came and went and came and went
leaving only blanks and shadows

Missed the butterflies the most
I had always been so proud to say that
the years had not stopped those
but for a time only I remembered them

The grey days and hard nights were yours
not my battle to fight
yet whilst you were numb to it
I felt my way through, I saw the darkness
fall between us and settle in the cracks
felt the fear as you dared not feel at all

And the irony is in the fact that
I would usually reach for you
place my sadness in your safety net
but I missed you for a while as I fell

Written in response to a ‘missing you’ prompt for Poetics at dVerse Poets where Stuart McPherson is hosting.

18 responses to “No vacancies

  1. wow vanessa…what an intense and felt write…made me think of someone lost to depression or some mental suffering when the person is still physically there but can’t be reached…excellent images and details in this like the ‘no vacancies’ the sign hanging at the windows in the eyes..

  2. ‘no vacancies’ the sign that
    hung at the windows in your eyes…starts the roll for me…watching them go numb and missing them…maybe even when they are still here…or int he room with us…they change…we change…and its just not the way it used to be….nicely penned verse ma’am

  3. Yeah..this has bite. That good old VM bite that I enjoy…and it feels intensely personal as well, and again, poetry of this kind is one thatbim a huge fan of…just get it the hell off your chest and let it go. This poem conjured an image of a child needing the support of a parent, but not getting it, only distance, even if the reasons aren’t so clear…and not only is this something I relate to a lot, but something that I think that many will also empathise with. Great, raw energy writing

  4. Authentic and moving. The final stanza;
    “And the irony is in the fact that
    I would usually reach for you
    place my sadness in your safety net
    but I missed you for a while as I fell”

    Really made my eyes sting, so evocative and so very true.

    but I missed you for a while as I fell

Tell me your thoughts...

