Mañana

20130119-172216.jpg

Click, jump, click, jump, click
Watching in awe as we are entertained
by the bar man who jumps a rough match
across his finger nail as if by magic
‘Again, again!’ I squeal with delight, and
he winks, brown eyes under glossed black hair

There’s a glow of the bottles in the dim light where
row upon row of amber, jade and bark stand waiting
Xoriguer and Palo leave traces of juniper and quinine
on my parents smiling lips, teeth shine out from happy faces
Fresh baked limbs on show and hands entwined with mine
toffee apples at my cheeks, Varcas on bare feet that skip
whilst Binibeca and Ciutadella flash as postcard memories

Relaxed as we walk out into the warm Menorcan evening
Lamp lit chalk stacks jostle for space against a midnight sky
an on leaving we bid farewell with a new found phrase
‘Muchas gracias hasta mañana’
I repeat it, roll it around over and over with relish
‘Muchas gracias hasta mañana’
trying to sound like a local as I wander in a new world
and all the while I feel so very much at home

Written especially for tonight’s dVerse Poets Poetics prompt where we are being asked to write using a foreign language… I only wish I could speak another language, I’m sure I’ll learn Italian one day but for now this little bit of Catalan will have to do!

19 responses to “Mañana

  1. made me smile…when i was in barcelona, i went to a museum and they had all the little notes below the pictures in spanisch and then translated….to… catalan!! ha…that really made me laugh out loud..didn’t understand a word..my daughters speak spanish quite fluent and when they don’t want us to understand what they’re talking about, they talk spanish with each other…smiles

  2. def smiles…it is great to feel at home…and what characters you meet as well when you travel…really cool scene…the guy has a bit of magic in his match dancing….the lamp lit chalk sticks is a cool image as well…hasta manana

  3. Oh this is nice. Enjoyed the scene you depict here. Brought back memories of Spain. I do speak Spanish, but the Puerto Rican dialect. When I went to Spain, I had a little bit of trouble making myself understood. Still, it was wonderful. Glad you wrote about this.

    • Thanks Myrna, its something I still remember from that barman even though I was a child at the time. He and my Dad had a long chat about Catalan and Castillian and Spanish and it was fascinating to me! Good times, glad I could share… 🙂

  4. Catalan is the reason why Barcelona didn’t appear in my poem. It’s a fabulous city, but not a great place to practice your beginners Castillan. On Mallorca it seemed that everything was Castillan, not Catalan. I wonder why…

    Enjoyed the poem, Vanessa. Menorca is on my list of places to vist at some point in the future.

  5. …You def entertain us with your scene here…lively captured with some touches of a beat like flow…much enjoyable to read now and again…and perhaps for another more…smiles…

  6. Lovely poem. You took me there. These are the phrases of Spanish I’ve heard all my life and little more. Perhaps an hasta luego thrown in. I know a little Spanish but oddly the Mexicans who come to Texas speak as little as possible and become fluent in English as soon as they can. It’s that first generation American thing. But I think they should speak both.

Tell me your thoughts...

