Lost in coffee

20130216-203019.jpg

Finding my place was so much more
than searching for an empty table
Two chairs when I really wanted
there to be only one, solitary me
Chatter ahead and lurking behind
I can’t help but hear their every word

Marjorie is as upper as the crust
on my scone, she’s bought enough shirts
to see Terence into the hereafter
or so she mutters to her friends
Harvey talks of borrowed yesterdays
and all the while I’m trying to get back
to the silence I’m searching for

Their stories may be charming flashbacks
but these people are not mine
just a stitch in another time
So I do what I can to brush them away
with the crumbs from my table
and go back to my coffee and contemplation

Written for this weeks Cohen inspired Poetics prompt over at dVerse Poets

18 responses to “Lost in coffee

  1. Sometimes a person just wants to be alone, especially if one is forced to share space with people that one has nothing in common with. Coffee and contemplation DO make good company!

  2. Marjorie is as upper as the crust
    on my scone…ha love that….and while it may be nice to look in on the conversation, realizing they are not mine either…i think i would much perfer my coffee talking to me…smiles…cool pic as well vanessa

  3. Finding my place was so much more
    than searching for an empty table…this is a great start ..and sometimes we just need that space of our own..to think..to be.. without other people invading it..can relate to this..

  4. This line is utter genius:
    “Marjorie is as upper as the crust
    on my scone”

    I’ve heard people exactly like that! Lovely writing, Vanessa.

  5. As someone who can set in a room full of people and mentally drift away undetected when there isn’t much of interest there, I can relate to this. You had me with the first two lines.

Tell me your thoughts...

