STIRRING UP A HORNET’S NEST

Image source: Pinterest.com

Image source: Pinterest.com

Does anyone else have a tendency to look for problems where there are none? This morning I found myself chasing a wasp out of my kitchen and was pretty sure I saw it buzz out of the window. Phew. Five minutes later and there was another one (though it could have been the same one). Then I remembered that I had also chased one out of the bathroom yesterday. Aha! We must have a nest. We did, after all, have a hornet’s nest in the garden a couple of years ago. Proof if it were needed that hornets, and therefore surely wasps too, were attracted to our house and must have set up home in the cavities. I wandered the boundary looking for signs of trouble, a hole that the nasty little buggers must be crawling in and out of. I will find it, exterminate it, and all will be safe and well once more.

The thing is, I didn’t find any signs of trouble, there doesn’t seem to be a nest. Odds are it was just the fact that a couple of windows were open, it’s summer and the kids have left plenty of sticky bits of fruit and cereal around to attract wasps. So why did I assume the worst even when reassuring signs of normality were everywhere? I consider myself to be positive and optimistic on the whole but honestly, it’s a strange little habit that extends as much to my health, wealth and general stability as it does to my concerns about nature’s predators. For example, I have been convinced on at least two occasions in the last few years that I have a life threatening illness, the symptoms of which tend to become more prevalent after I have read a news article telling me that statistically I am more likely to have it. Whilst I am on the subject of statistics…

In the UK it is estimated that between 1.5 per cent and 3.6 per cent of the UK population – between 1 million and 2.2 million people – suffer with an anxiety disorder. In the US, anxiety disorders affect 18% of the population – that’s 40 million adults aged 18 and over.

At least I am not alone then (see how I did that? I just diagnosed myself with an anxiety disorder). I manage to keep my anxiety in check most of the time, but every now and then it pops up and stings me just like a damn wasp. Anyone else?

4 responses to “STIRRING UP A HORNET’S NEST

  1. I love the positive spin on the wasp, I am very allergic to their sting therefore I avoid them at all costs. As for the anxiety level I believe when a doctor does not take the time to test/research/listen they give this diagnosis and write the perscription for the drugs which dulls all to zombiness.

  2. I write about my anxiety disorder all the time on my blog. real not imagined. but i will repeat to you my favorite line a friend told me “don’t meet trouble half way” so don’t imagine a problem if there isn’t one…if there is one, you will surely know in good time. don’t waste the other time! sometimes it helps, truly. enjoy the lovely moments of each day. Laurie US

Tell me your thoughts...

