PLAYING WITH WORDS – The N+7 Machine

I have been participating in a University program of workshops delivered to rural communities. I was sent the following link and was quite inspired by the results. Thought I would share it with you.

://www.spoonbill.org/n+7/

The idea is that you paste in some text and the online generator takes a noun and replaces it with whatever is 7 nouns away in the dictionary. I had a piece of text I had written that was disappointing me, I felt it was too domestic. Putting it through the generator proved to be quite an interesting exercise. Yes okay, the generated text was a strange mix of gobbledygook and random sentences, however it changed the tone completely. It took my quaint, corny sentences and created something with a futuristic fantasy feel. Whilst much of the story content got lost (who cares, sometimes you have to get lost in order to be found don’t you?!), a whole new set of interesting words emerged which I actually found quite exciting from a creative perspective. Lots of strange new words and possibilities to play with. Have a go and let me know what you discover by leaving a comment…

Tell me your thoughts...

