Poetry Puzzled

I was going through my notebook today when I stumbled upon a couple of pages of quotes I had scribbled down a few months ago. Immediately I was able to recall why I chose them. They were special phrases, a way to lift my spirits and boost my confidence at a time when I was brimming with doubts about my creativity. Those precious words offered the inspiration and reassurance I needed, and they were all mine. Not lifted from a bunch of lighthearted memes or some random Rumi quotes on Pinterest. Nope, these were my own words. I had rummaged through old poems I had written for this blog, pieces from my poetry book and other offline works and listed my favourites to remind myself that I was capable of creating beautiful text. Looking at them again today, I decided that I would sew those lines together and make a new poem just to see how each independent line worked as part of a new whole. Like putting mismatched pieces of puzzles together. They shouldn’t belong, they shouldn’t fit, but I think they do. The day I listed them I had essentially made a gift for my future self, and today I got to unwrap it and share it with you. What do you think? Have a go at bringing some of your own random lines together in the comments section below.

the sound of tossed gravel on tin
sea rolls out like a welcome mat
inviting me to tiptoe into the fray
I greet my ghosts with grace
perishing darkness, chiffon shadows
swimming through the slurry
brain soup stirring
soak it up, swallow it, vile
Drilling at you, white noise
until torrid is calm

I watch a hungry night subside and
I am blown to tiny particles
the light a subtle diffusion
that takes seed before sunrise
a glint of gold in a syrup dawn
I submit and let you destabilise my heart
‘pull me close, don’t let me disappear’
here I am trapped in unsung song
that ripples through my ribs
the cage that holds me in, my salt and earth

I don’t look back at her, there is no point
home is in tatters now, only red dust
and sticky black risen from the spot
favours bleed out from a hot splash
bubbles in my glass crackle gently
like tension popping through my spine
I lay low on the grassy banks of time
rifling through the loose change in search of lost days
lost lines, words neatly folded into hospital corners

Pitter patter, trickle splatter
the realisation that when my shadow turns
to but a wisp rising in the ether
and only empty space remains
nothing really changes except the light
moving miracles into focus
hitched up, stitched up, start again
a misted valley doused in cherry
making magic before moonshine

15 responses to “Poetry Puzzled

  1. You have some really fresh images here. I love the line in S1:

    I greet my ghosts with grace
    perishing darkness, chiffon shadows
    swimming through the slurry

    and in the final stanza:

    nothing really changes except the light
    moving miracles into focus
    hitched up, stitched up, start again

  2. Vanessa, you have used some powerful metaphors in here – and I loved them all. Trapped in your unsung song was my favourite most part.

Tell me your thoughts...

