BULLETS

Is anybody out there?

I’m trapped in here you see.

I’ve got everything that I could want,

but it’s not enough for me.

I don’t care about the carpets,

the curtains and the crystal.

I’m reading shocking headlines,

and wondering if I need a pistol.

It’s not that I have had enough

of life and all it’s things.

It’s just that I feel wasted.

I’ve a song my voice can’t sing.

If I could only find my target,

I might shoot it off the wall.

Find some focus for my passion,

pull the trigger and watch it fall.

 

I could search amongst the pieces,

shards of bullet blistered spill.

I could pan for gold and diamonds,

But my trigger’s rusted still.

I shout into the void,

but an echo does not come

Is it inspiration I’m calling for?

Inspiration I’m running from?

What if I found a moment

or a special sip of colour

that could brighten up the boredom,

stop my mind from growing duller?

Would I work to sculpt a masterpiece,

or craft only pulp and dribble?

Would I push past my rough edges

or languish in the middle?

Perhaps that’s what I’m scared of?

Perhaps I’m tired of the slow pace?

Of the benign and the degenerate

ever clouding up the space.

I only wish to contribute

and share a broader view.

Not blink at endless selfies

I’m bored here, how about you?

 

by Vanessa Matthews

17 responses to “BULLETS

  1. I’m especially drawn to this:
    “or a special sip of colour” (we just did a wall in our bedroom blue, yesterday)
    and this:
    “pulp and dribble” —> this is FANTASTIC.

  2. I’ve a song my voice can’t sing.
    If I could only find my target,
    I might shoot it off the wall.
    Find some focus for my passion,
    pull the trigger and watch it fall.

    Touching lines Vanessa 🙂

  3. Frustration comes roaring out of this poem.
    ‘Would I push past my rough edges
    or languish in the middle?’

    Can’t see any rough edges and you’re already well past the middle with this piece. Very enjoyable.

  4. There sure are lots of meaningless distractions in this life. It comes down to choices, but I hear you, sometimes it’s just plain tiresome…and yes, even boring.

  5. Good to see you at D’verse Vanessa ~ I like this part:

    What if I found a moment

    or a special sip of colour

    that could brighten up the boredom

    Enjoy your week ~

  6. Welome to dVerse! I’m not bored here – with sunsets and birds and growing things….glaring at selfies – ah, you put your wise finger right on the spot of wasting time and effort. Excellent poem.

  7. I have many favourites in your piece – I’ve a song my voice can’t sing. You have explored a different direction – which is good and brings in a lot of variety. Thanks for joining my prompt.

  8. This really builds up the frustration and being trapped inside. A lot of emotions and agree so easy to while away the time. A good read and will inspire me to maybe breakout for a short time.

Tell me your thoughts...

